All states have laws governing assault or battery crimes. In some states, these laws are relatively simple. In Texas, however, assault laws are quite complicated.
For example, Texas has many classifications of assault, some of them resulting in lifetime prison sentences upon conviction. If you are facing assault charges in the San Antonio region, consider learning more about the law.
Is assault a felony in Texas?
It can be. The authorities will typically file felony charges for an assault in the following situations:
- If the victim is a public servant performing official duties
- If you are alleged to have intentionally or recklessly choked a member of your family
- If you are arrested for violence against a domestic partner or family member and were convicted previously for similar offenses
- If the victim is a government contractor and suffers harm while on duty
- If the victim is a security officer harmed while performing their job duties
- If the victim is an emergency services worker assaulted while providing their services
Defendants may face more severe aggravated assault charges if:
- The incident causes severe injuries
- The defendant used a weapon
In most other cases, assault is charged as a class A, B or C misdemeanor. The possible penalties for misdemeanor assault convictions include a fine of up to $4,000 and up to one year in jail. Felony assault convictions, on the other hand, can result in a fine approaching $10,000 and anywhere from five years to a lifetime of imprisonment.
Improving your understanding of assault laws in the state can help you create a successful defense. In most cases, guidance from an experienced legal advocate can help.